We are delighted to welcome you to our 43rd season, which features a varied programme and celebrates the work of Elgar. We very grateful to our loyal Patrons, whose names are shown below on this page, for their valuable financial support, which allows us to provide music of such high quality.

Our Patrons


Our patrons are entitled to the following.: 

  • Discounts on concert tickets
  • Privileged advance booking directly with YGO for the best seats
  • Complimentary programme
  • Exclusive listing in our concert programme and website
  • Free invitation to our Chair’s pre-concert drinks reception
  • Complimentary attendance at our soloists’ masterclasses
  • Free invitation to the YGO/YSJU orchestral workshop day
  • Complimentary attendance at any of our rehearsals
Our achievments

We have regularly attracted world-class soloists to York and commissioned new works especially for the orchestra.

In addition to the major works in the repertoire, we have also performed under Simon Wright’s encouraging and masterful baton, all the symphonies of Mahler and Sibelius – a unique double of which we are very proud.

Our concert reviews are a testament to our successful endeavours over the years. You can read a review of our last concert here.

Our other activities

Your contribution enables us to continue our outreach activity of giving tickets to local schools via the York Music Hub, which does so much for music education in the city – a vital investment in encouraging youngsters to take up a musical instrument and in building audiences for the future.

We simply could not have done any of this without our Patrons’ generous donations.

Our history

You may be familiar with the remarkable story of the YGO. Founded in 1979 by John Hastie for one concert only – and here we are 45 years later! (see also The Orchestra).

Message from Simon

Our 2023/2024 season has a piece of Elgar in each programme.  We haven't played his music for some time and there are many in the orchestra who asked if we could.  Being a democratic organisation, I am more than happy to oblige!

In October it is Elgar's monumental First Symphony and we are so looking forward to welcoming back David Greed to play the Mendelssohn Violin Concerto. 

In February it is Enigma Variations, surrounded by two choral masterpieces with Leeds Festival Chorus and in May Elgar's not so often heard Bavarian Dances alongside Dvorak's wonderfully sunny and cheerful 7th Symphony.

On November 19th a 'slimmed down' YGO will be 'touring' to Helmsley to play music by Wagner, Elgar and Mozart (his Flute Concerto in D and his 40th Symphony).  

I do hope that you will be able to join us for some, if not all, of our concerts this season.  Please could I take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable and generous ongoing support, which is so very much appreciated.

Patron Subscription

Our annual subscriptions are £75 for a single patron or £120 for joint patronage, which can also be paid ininstalments if that is more convenient. Any contributions above these amounts will be gratefully received.

To become a Patron simply send an email to  and I will gladly help.

Thank you for supporting us and we look forward to welcoming you to our concerts.

Angelo Braganza
Patrons’ Secretary

Become a patron

List of Patrons

As at 28th April 2023

Penelope Armour (in memoriam)
Ian Bainbridge
Mr & Mrs P J Bartle
Trevor Berry
Mrs M A Blakeson
Ellen & David Bradbury
Loretta Braganza
Dr R Brech
Clare Brind
Dr Alyson Brody
Mrs Eileen Brody
David & Wendy Brooks
Margaret Bryan
John & Josephine Bryan
Helen Byrne
Katharine Carter
Mrs Lucy Charnock
Mrs Colleen Copley
Mrs Christina Cramb
F Finney
Ian Cuthbertson
Mr & Mrs Dexter Smith
Mr D Dickson
Helen & Robert Dobson
Geoff Egginton
Mr A Evans
Mr F & Mrs M J Finney
Mrs J Freeman
Mrs Olwyn Fuller (in memoriam)
Ann Green CBE
David & Janet Hopton
Jeremy & Paula Horsfield
Clare Howard
Cathy Hunter
Rosemary Johnson (in memoriam)
Frances Jones
Graham Long (in memoriam)
Mr L & Mrs C E Mackinlay
Prof. Andy Marvin & Heather Marvin
Cllr. Ashley Mason
Les McCormack & Fabiana Tia Maria
Mr D Miller & Mrs S Gray
Jacky Moran
Paul & Ellen Murphy
Sheila Newman (in memoriam)
Giles & Alex Nightingale
Joan Poole (in memoriam)
Dr Maureen A Porter
Nicola Rainger
Prof. Tony & Dr Eva Robards
Cllr C Runciman
David Rymer & Laurent Simon
Tina & Peter Sanderson
Mark Saunders
Marc Schatzberger
Nigel Tooze & Chris Shaw
Rome Sigsworth
Gerard Simpson
Peter & Penny Smith
Christine Smith
Helen Speight
Gill Stilwell
Commodore Paul Sutermeister
Kathrine Sykes
Mark Sykes
Judith Thorpe
Peter Vaughan
Miss V Walpole
Michael Ward-Jackson
Hon Alderman Richard Watson
Mrs Ann Wilson
Clive Woolley
Honor Wright