5th February, 2022 - York Barbican Centre: 7:30pm

Rebecca Taylor

Buy tickets
Rebecca Taylor

Tickets:  Adults £18*
(Children & students in full-time education £6*)

*The Box Office will add a transaction and handling fee to these base prices)



  • Beethoven – Overture to King Stephen Op. 117
  • Beethoven – Piano Concerto No.1 Op. 15
    (soloist:  Rebecca Taylor)
  • Tchaikovsky – Symphony No.5 Op. 64

Conductor: Simon Wright

Leader: Fiona Love

The second concert in our 41st concert season sees us perform one of Beethoven’s rarely played overtures. The lack of attention is most underserved as this is a lovely work fully of happy tunes and rhythms in Beethoven’s inimitable style. It is a commemorative work composed in 1811 with an overture and nine vocal numbers, although only the overture is usually played nowadays. The title refers to King Stephen 1st who founded Hungary in the year 1000.

Rebecca Taylor joins us for Beethoven’s first piano concerto – written some 25 years earlier than King Stephen – is very much in the Classical style, but still with a hint of Beethoven’s ingenuity that was to flower in his later works.

The second half of the concert features a stalwart of the symphonic repertoire, Tchaikovsky’s fifth symphony, one of his most popular works demonstrating his darker side, perhaps ultimate victory through strife!


Please note that whilst we will endeavour to perform the concert as shown, the orchestra reserves the right to amend the concert programme, soloist and ticket pricing should circumstances require.



York Barbican
Paragon Street
YO10 4AH



© Copyright 2022 York Guildhall Orchestra

The York Guildhall Orchestra is a registered charity (number 700863).