15th February, 2020 - York Barbican Centre: 7:30pm

Jamie Walton

Buy tickets


  • Maurice Ravel – Suite from Ma Mère l’Oye (Mother Goose)
  • Sir Edward Elgar – ‘Cello Concerto
              (soloist: Jamie Walton, ‘cello)
  • Johannes Brahms – Symphony No.2 in D

Conductor: Simon Wright

Leader: Fiona Love

So here we are, almost 40 years to the day from when the orchestra was first founded by John Hastie and playing concerts in the Guildhall in York; who could have foretold the amazing journey, reputation and popularity of the group that has developed in the intervening years.

Our anniversary concert begins with the first piece the orchestra played in 1980 – Ravel’s Mother Goose Suite – a wonderful showpiece for orchestra.  We follow this with a welcome return of the superb and internationally renowned Jamie Walton, playing Elgar’s evergreen ‘Cello Concerto.

At our first concert, we played Brahms’ first symphony – this time round, we will play his second; glorious writing for full symphony orchestra.

Please note that whilst we will endeavour to perform the concert as shown, the orchestra reserves the right to amend the concert programme, soloist and ticket pricing should circumstances require.


York Barbican
Paragon Street
YO10 4AH



© Copyright 2019 York Guildhall Orchestra

The York Guildhall Orchestra is a registered charity (number 700863).