11th February, 2023 - York Barbican Centre, 7:30pm

All-Beethoven Concert with Leeds Festival Chorus

Buy Tickets
Soloist montage
Ludwig van Beethoven


  • Egmont Overture
  • Angels’ Hallelujah Chorus (Christ on the Mount of Olives)
  • Meeresstille und Glückliche Farht
  • Fidelio Overture
  • Symphony No.9 “The Choral”

Soprano:  Anastasia Bevan

Contralto: Sarah Winn

Tenor: Sam Knock

Bass:  Matt Kellett

Conductor: Simon Wright

Leader: Fiona Love

The second concert in this season will see us welcome back Leeds Festival Chorus in this all-Beethoven concert with one of his show-stopping symphonies. 

The two overtures are well known to concert goers, and they are great fun to play and to listen to.  The Meeresstille und Glückliche Farht is a setting of two poems by the German poet Goethe, and translates as Calm sea and prosperous voyage.  From his Oratorio, Christ on the Mount of Olives, the choir will join the orchestra in the Hallelujah Chorus.

The mighty 9th Symphony again demonstrated Beethoven’s gift for inventing something new.  It is a glorious piece of music with plenty of wonderful melodies.  We have four magnificent soloists lined up for you. 

Please note that whilst we will endeavour to perform the concert as shown, the orchestra reserves the right, without prior notice, to amend the concert date, concert programme, soloist and ticket pricing should circumstances require


York Barbican
Paragon Street
YO10 4AH



© Copyright 2022 York Guildhall Orchestra

The York Guildhall Orchestra is a registered charity (number 700863).